Senior Soccer Season


Tyndall College Men’s Soccer Team had a year to remember when they were crowned South Leinster Champions on Thursday the 16th of December on the Watershed Pitch in Kilkenny. The year began with a 7-2 win over Bagenalstown. This result was followed by a 4-1 loss to Duiske College, which was our only loss of the competition. We then reacted with a 3-1 win over Kilkenny Vocational school which put us through to a semi final regardless of the remaining two group games. We played out a hard fought 1-1 draw with Scoil Aireagail Ballyhale where the boys had to dig deep in their home pitch. We finished off the group games with a huge 10-0 win over Colaiste Pobail Osrai.

This then set up a semi final showdown with Kilkenny Vocational School. The boys started off slowly but slowly grew into the game with a goal from Dylan Murphy. This left the scoreline level at half time. Tyndall then began to dominate and scored 3 more goals again through the Top Scorer in the competition Dylan Murphy to see us through to the final against Scoil Aireagail Ballyhale.

Confidence was high coming into this game and boys gave absolutely everything to grind out a result. There was nothing to separate the two teams and it eventually went to extra time and then the dreaded penalty shootout. Jodie Doyle stepped up and slotted home his penalty with ease. This was followed by an unbelievable save from Jamie Farnon. Dylan Murphy was next to put away his penalty and again Jamie Farnon got down to save another Ballyhale penalty. Jack Doyle was next and he sent the keeper the wrong way to put Tyndall in a wonderful position. A Ballyhale penalty had to be retaken when Jamie was adjudged to have stepped off his line to save Ballyhale’s third penalty. It was retaken and scored which left Giacomo Zanardi with the job to win the game and title for Tyndall College. He stepped up with confidence and slotted the ball home which caused unbelievable scenes of excitement and triumph as players, fans and coaches joined in on the celebrations. Boni and Jordan accepted the cup on behalf of a panel of 30 players. This then led to huge guard of honour at the school where students cheered on the victorious Tyndall team. Well done to all players and their coaches, Mr. Coady and Mr. Dunne on an incredible achievement.

The Panel included:

Boni Milinganyo (Joint Captain)

Jordan Power Molloy (Joint Captain)

Jamie Farnon

Eoin Kirby

Pol Casas

Lwazi Ndhlovu

Shane Kelly

Thato Ramussi

Jodie Doyle Hutton

Dylan Murphy

Giacomo Zanardi

Matti Niklewicz

Sean Murphy

Jack Doyle

Kallum Roarty

Oshokha Saliu

Adam Allaiouti

Jack Hynes

Aaron O’ Neill

Martin McGrath

Hewad Ahmad

Khaya Michael Phillips

Joel- Divine Abu

Abraham Leonard

Tadgh Curry

Shad Simpson

Zuhire Darsi

Oliwier Seglet

Donagh O’ Rourke

Jakie Ngobeni

Shane Grant